
THE FALL 2020 UTAH WASTEWATER OPERATOR 
CERTIFICATION EXAMS 

 
OFFERED BY THE UTAH DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY 

 
 

WHEN: 
 
October 8, 2020: Thursday - 8:45 a.m. to noon, Davis Conference Center, Layton, Utah.  Applications 

must be received at the Division of Water Quality office by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, 
September 11, 2020.  This is a separate application & fee from the RWAU conference 
registration. 

 
November 5, 2020: Thursday - 12:45 to 4:00 p.m., at one of the other 

locations in the state:  Bluffdale, Ogden, Provo, 
Richfield, Salt Lake (DEQ), Vernal, or St. George 
area.  Applications must be received at the Division 
of Water Quality office by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, 
October 9, 2020.  This is a separate application & fee 
from any training seminar registration. 

 
EXAMS OFFERED:  Mandatory Program: Wastewater Treatment (Grades 

I – IV); Collection (Grades I – IV); Small Lagoon 
System I 
Voluntary Program:  Biosolids Land Applier 
(Grades I – II); Wastewater Laboratory Analyst 
(Grades I – IV); Plant Maintenance Technologist 
(Grades I – III) 

 
APPLICATIONS: Applications are available through the Division of Water Quality: 

 Visit our website: Search for "Wastewater Operator" on https://deq.utah.gov  
 Email wwopcert@utah.gov with “Exam Application Request” in subject line 
 Call (801) 536-4344 to have an application form mailed to you 

 
Note: The exam rosters for each location are posted on our website under “Certification Exams” / “Rosters” 

as soon as the applications are processed.  Check to be certain that you are scheduled for the specific 
type of exam and location you requested.  The current version of the standardized treatment and 
collection exams now has 110 questions, which include 100 pre-determined questions to be scored, 
plus 10 unidentified questions being pre-tested for future use.  Time allotted to take the exam is 
three (3) hours for either 100 or 110 question exams, in compliance with ABC’s testing 
recommendations.  No additional time is allowed if you choose to take more than one exam 
during a session. 

 
COST: $50.00 per exam‒make checks payable to “Division of Water Quality” 
 (Full refund up to the application deadline‒after the deadline, no refunds can be given) 
  
TO APPLY: Submit a fully completed exam application, notarized Citizenship/Alien ID Certification 

form with copy of photo ID (if not previously submitted), and the $50.00/exam fee payable 
by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit cards (in person or on-line). Completed forms 
may be submitted by email to wwopcert@utah.gov if the fee has been pre-paid using the 
online Water Quality Payment Portal. Do NOT MAIL cash. 

 
Mail to: Wastewater Operator Certification  Deliver to: Division of Water Quality 
 C/O Division of Water Quality  Multi Agency State Office Bldg, DEQ 3rd Floor 
 PO Box 144870  195 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, UT  84114-4870  Salt Lake City, Utah 84116 

 
In compliance with the American with Disabilities Act, individuals with special needs 

 (including auxiliary communicative aids and services) should contact  
Judy Etherington at (801) 536-4344 prior to the application deadline date. 

 
U:\ENG_WQ\JETHERINGTON\OPCERT\EXAM CORRESP\FALL\2020FALLEXAMCSP\FALL2020EXAMNOTIFY.DOCX 
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