

Used Oil Fuel Marketer Application

Application General Information							
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,					NAICS Code (If applicable)		
Com	pany Street Address	City	City		Zip Code	Telephone # (10 digits)	
Mail	ing Address (If different than street address)	City	City		Zip Code	Telephone #	
Facil	Facility's Street Address (If different than company) City State Zip Code			Telephone #			
Com	Telephone #						
Contact Name & Title (If different than company owner) Contact e-mail Address						Telephone #	
Land Owner (If different than company/business owner)						Telephone #	
Current and/or Previous Permits with Utah DEQ							
Has your company ever held or currently holds any permits with Utah DEQ? If yes, please list them below (e.g. UO Transporter Permit, Water Quality Discharge Permit, Permit by Rule)							
# Type Permit # # Type						Permit #	

#	Туре	Permit #	#	Туре	Permit #
1			3		
2			4		

Regular Mail

Director of Utah Division of Waste Management & Radiation Control P.O. Box 144880 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4880

Phone: (801) 536-0200 **Fax:** (801) 536-0222

Fed Ex & UPS... Or in Person

Director of Utah Division of Waste Management & Radiation Control 195 North 1950 West Multi-Agency State Office Building, 2nd Floor Salt Lake City, Utah 84116

^{**} Please keep a copy of your Registration Application for your records **



Used Oil Fuel Marketer Application

Payment							
Check: \$100.00 payable	Check: \$100.00 payable to DEQ/DWMRC - or - Online Payment Portal						
Clearly indicate the permit applicant's name and the check purpose(s). Permit Application Fee (\$50.00)					Used Oil Handler Fee (\$50.00)		
Used Oil Fuel Marketer Information							
Type of Used Oil Activity. Please refer to R315-15-7.4(b)(2)(v).							
Directs a shipment of off-specification used oil from their facility to a used oil burner							
First determines and claim forth in R315-15-1.2	ns that used oil that is to be	e bur	ned for energy recovery meets the	used	oil fuel specifications set		
	Submit the Following information						
Location of any facilities us registrations.	Location of any facilities used by the marketer to collect, transport, process, or store used oil subject to separate permits or						
Status of other applicable permits and licenses (e.g., zoning, federal, state, and local permits and other registrations). Please refer to R315-15-13.7(b)(3).							
Submit the Following Documentation							
Attach a copy of the analysis plan to be implemented by the owner/operator to make the determination that the used oil to be burned for energy recovery meets the fuel specifications. Please refer to R315-15-7.3(a).							
Business License F	From the state of incorpora	ation	(For <u>Utah</u>)				
Certificate of Existence Or Letter of Good Standing	Documentation showing w	ho o	wns the property (For <u>Utah</u>)				
Certification							
I certify under penalty of law that this application and all associated documents were prepared by me or under my direction or supervision. The information submitted is to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate and complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information, including the possibility of a fine and imprisonment for knowing violations.							
I hereby certify the forgoing is true and correct. Company owner must sign this form. (Keep a copy of this form for your records)							
Name of Owner or Authorized Designee Title							
Signature	Signature				е		

Spill Report Form

[Template – For All UOCC's & Permitted Sites. Use ONLY for spills (Do NOT send with application]

Company Name:			Date of spill:			
Company Address:			Time of Spill:			
Location of spill (Name of business, street address, and	specific location of spill):				
Driver or responsible party:						
Others at the scene (List contact info):						
Approximate quantity of spill (Gallons):		Quantity of spi	illed product recovered (Gallons):			
Type of absorbent used:		Quantity of ab	sorbent used to be disposed (Pounds):			
How long did the spill continue?						
Any other pertinent information:						
Describe actions taken to minimize spill and the	en clean it up:					
Who was contacted? (Agencies – fire, police, health de	epartment, EPA)					
Agency:	Date:	Time:	Contact:			
Agency:	Date:	Time:	Contact:			
Agency:	Date:	Time:	Contact:			
Agency:	Date:	Time:	Contact:			
Were used oil Emergency Controls – Spill Plan "notification" & "reporting" requirements followed? Yes No * Notify the Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 24- hour Answering Service, (801) 536-4123 for used oil releases exceeding 25 gallons, or smaller releases that pose a potential threat to human health or the environment. ** Within 15 days after any release of used oil that is reported under R315-15-9.1(b), the person responsible for the material at the time of the release shall submit a						
written report to the Director of the Department.	· 					
Name of Responsible Party		Name of Manager				
Signature of Responsible Party		Signature of Manag	er			
Date of Signature		Date of Signature				

^{**} This form should be filed in the company files after form is completed and signed. **

Procedures for Recording Halogen Content

[Default Plan]

1. Company Information

Company Name	Telephone Number (Area code + 7 digits)	
Company Physical Address	City	State and Zip Code

2. General Procedures

The Permittee's drivers shall document the halogen content of the used oil, the determination method and date of entry, if applicable, on the shipping record as follows:

3. Bill of Lading (Record for single transporter)

When the Permittee determines the halogen content using halogen field screening methods or laboratory analytical methods in accordance with the Analysis Plan the driver shall record the following halogen information:

```
Halogen ≤ 1,000 ppm/test, OR
Halogen > 1,000 ppm/test
```

When the Permittee determines the halogen content using Generator Knowledge provided by the generator, the driver shall record the following information:

```
Halogen ≤ 1,000 ppm/GenKno, OR
Halogen > 1,000 ppm/GenKno
```

Note: The Bill of Lading must be dated.

4. Manifest (Record for single or multiple transporters)

When the Permittee determines the halogen content using halogen field screening methods or laboratory analytical methods in accordance with the Analysis Plan the driver shall record the following halogen information and date the entry in the special handling box of the manifest.

```
Halogen ≤ 1,000 ppm/test, OR
Halogen > 1,000 ppm/test
```

When the Permittee determines the halogen content using Generator Knowledge provided by the generator, the driver shall record the following information:

```
Halogen ≤ 1,000 ppm/GenKno (Date), OR
Halogen > 1,000 ppm/GenKno (Date)
```

Analysis Plan

[Default Plan]

1. Company Information

Company Name	Telephone Number (Area code + 7 digits)	
Company Physical Address	City	State and Zip Code

2. General Requirements

The Permittee shall verify that the halogen content of the used oil collected prior to transport in accordance with at least one of the following halogen verification methods in accordance with 3 through 5 of this plan:

3. Halogen Field Screening Methods

If the Permittee screens the generator's used oil to verify halogen concentrations, the Permittee shall use a halogen field screening method in accordance with the following requirements:

- a. Used oil that contains less than 20% water shall be screened for halogens with a CLOR-D-TECT® halogen test kit (EPA Method 9077).
- b. Used oil that contains between 20% and 70% water shall be screened for halogens with a HYDROCLOR-Q[®] test kit. The resulting halogen concentration must be corrected using the following conversion formula to calculate true halogen concentration.

True Halogen Concentration = Reading Syringe + [(10 + mL oil in sample)/10]

<u>Example:</u> Sample contains 6 mL water and 4 mL oil (60% water) and the syringe readings is 2,000 ppm, then the true concentration is:

$$2,000 \text{ ppm} [(10 + 4)/10] = 2,800 \text{ ppm}$$

- c. Used oil that contains greater than 70% water shall be screened for halogens with a HYDROCLOR-Q[®] test kit. Correction of the halogen screening results is not required.
- d. The Permittee shall document on acceptance records of bill of lading the screening results.
- e. The requirement for quality control sample (duplicate) may be satisfied by testing prior to off-loading from permitted vehicles in accordance with the CLOR-D-TECT[®] kits (EPA Method 9077) and is not required for each load collected at individual generators.

4. Halogen Laboratory Analytical Methods

If the Permittee submits a representative used oil sample to a Utah-certified laboratory to analyze for total halogen concentration, the Permittee shall use Method 9076 or other equivalent method approved by the Director.

The Permittee shall document the analytical results on the transportation document such as a bill of lading or manifest.

5. Halogen Generator Knowledge Method

The Permittee shall have information on file, (e.g., analytical testing, industry process knowledge) from the generator which is sufficient, as determined by the Director, to support any use of generator knowledge.

The Permitee may not rely solely on safety data sheet (SDS) in making a halogen concentration determination.

If relying on generator knowledge, the Permittee shall document on the shipping record the use of generator knowledge in accordance with the Permittee's Procedures for Recording Halogen Content.

Used oil determined to be on-specification by Utah-registered marketer can be collected and transported without further testing. Bills of lading, manifests or other used oil transportation records shall include copies of the analytical results for reference.

6. PCB Contaminated Used Oil

Used oils containing PCB concentrations greater than or equal to 50 mg/kg are subject to TSCA regulations 40 CFR 761. Used oils containing PCB concentrations greater than or equal to 2 mg/kg but less than 50 mg/kg are subject to both R315-15 f the Utah Administrative Code and 40 CFR 761.

Table 1 lists required laboratory PCB sample preparation and analytical methods.

Table 1: PCB Sample Preparation and analytical Methods

Sample Preparation Methods	Analytical Methods	Analytes*		
	8082A	PCB CAS RN	PCB Aroclor [®]	
		12674-11-2	1016*	
		147601-87-4	1210	
		151820-27-8	1216	
		11104-28-2	1221*	
		37234-40-5	1231	
		11141-16-5	1232*	
3500C (General)		71328-89-7	1240	
3580A (Preparation) 3665A (Cleanup)		53469-21-9	1242*	
		12672-29-6	1248*	
		165245-51-2	1250	
		89577-78-6	1252	
		11097-69-1	1254*	
		11096-82-5	1260*	
		37324-23-5	1262	
		11100-14-4	1268	

^{*} Note: Analyses of the seven Aroclors® bolded/* in the last column are mandatory to analyze. Additional Aroclors® may be selected from the last column for analysis if contained in the oil.

The Permittee shall obtain analytical results of dielectric oil used in transformers and other high voltage devices, verifying the PCB concentrations are less than 50 mg/kg prior to loading the used oil into the transportation vehicle.

PCB used oil may not be diluted to avoid any provision of 40 CFR 761.

If PCB concentrations greater than or equal to 2 mg/kg have been transported, the Permittee shall assume that all subsequent loads of used oil are contaminated with PCBs and has a quantifiable PCB concentrations of 2 mg/kg or greater unless the equipment has been decontaminated as described in 40 CFR 761 Subpart S.

Sample Collection Procedures

[Default Plan]

1. Company Information

Company Name	Telephone Number (Area code + 7 digits)	
Company Physical Address	City	State and Zip Code

2. General Requirements

Employees shall use the sampling procedures described below to collect representative samples from customers' tanks and containers when screening used oil for halogen content prior to collection.

3. **Procedure 1 – Containers < 375 gallons** [Add specific sampling procedure]

a. Sampling Equipment

Composite Liquid Waste Sampler (COLIWASA) nominally 175 mL, 39 inch sampler jar.

i. Step 1

Take COLIWASA and dip into drum or tote, make sure the tube fills up completely before closing.

ii. <u>Step 2</u>

Open sample jar and dispense the entire contents from COLIWASA into sample jar.

iii. Step 3

Screen sample using CLOR-D-TECT halogen test kit in accordance with facility's Analysis Plan.

iv. Step 4

Empty the sample in the bucket back into the used oil container/tank.

4. Procedure 2 – Tanks ≥ 375 gallons [Add specific sampling procedure]

a. Sampling Equipment

Dip tube sampler (Polypropylene/plastic type tube) sampler.

i. Step 1

Lower the sampling tube slowly into the liquid waste at a rate that allows the liquid level inside and outside the tube to equalize. Man-ways openings located at the top of the Tanker/pump trucks will be used to collect samples.

ii. Step 2

Slowly withdraw dip tube from the liquid. Either wipe the exterior of the sampler tube with a disposable cloth or allow excess liquid to drain back into the used oil container/tank.

iii. Step 3

Discharge the sample by placing the lower end of the dip tube into a sampling bucket.

iv. Step 4

Screen sample using CLOR-D-TECT® halogen test kit.

v. Step 5

Empty the sample in the bucket back into the used oil container/tank.

Railcar Loading Procedures

[Default Plan]

1. Company Information

Company Name	Telephone Number (Area code + 7 digits)	
Company Physical Address	City	State and Zip Code

2. General Procedure

The following procedure is designated to ensure that all railcars containing used oil (may use for non-regulated waste) are loaded safely and in compliance with all applicable regulations in order to minimize the potential for spills.

Two people with knowledge of loading and offloading procedures must be present during loading or offloading of any railcar. One person must remain on top of the railcar and one person must remain at the tank truck connection at all times during transfer. If at any time, one of the people must leave the operation, the operation must be stopped until a second qualified person is available. A single operator may be used is a secure dome lid connector is used to attach the upper hose to the railcar, the operator remains in sight of all connections, and the pump controls are readily accessible.

3. Rail Car Loading and Unloading Procedure

- a. Lock-out track with derailers at both ends of the rail spur so train operators know not to move any railcars on the spur during offloading.
- b. Place railcar chocks on both sides of the wheels of the railcar while offloading.
- c. Securely park used oil transportation trucks on an asphalt or concrete loading pad. Black containment mat or other containment structure during the loading and unloading of used oil between the trucks and rail tanker car.
- d. Set truck parking brake and chock both sides of one wheel of the truck to prevent accidental movement. Ensure adequate spill response equipment is readily accessible per procedures in Emergency Spill Plan.
- e. Prior to railcar loading, fill out Railcar Used Oil Transfer Log.
- f. Take an initial reading on truck to determine volume to be transferred.
- g. Unsecure railcar man-way/top hatch by removing I-bolts using a pipe wrench.
- h. Open man-way/top hatch and take an initial reading on the rail car by using a tape measure and verifying the current railcar measurements with the railcar strapping chart to ensure there is enough space available for transfer.
- i. Hoist opposite end of hose up to railcar hatch, uncap hose end, and insert into railcar. The person at the top must hold the hose in place while transferring or a fill lid must be used.
- j. Secure the hose to the side of the railcar, or candy-cane shaped stick, or other transfer equipment.
- k. Check the cam lock gaskets for integrity and secure the cam lock ears down.
- I. Proceed with transfer operation.
- m. If dome lid is not in use, the person at the top shall notify the second operator immediately if the railcar appears to be filling to a level higher than expected so the operation can be stopped.
- n. After transfer is complete, clear the hose of any material.
- o. Cap and plug all hoses to prevent drips.
- p. Close and secure the railcar hatch unless dome lid is in use.
- q. Complete all necessary shipping documentation and checklists.
- r. Ensure all tank files are updated after each transfer is completed.
- s. Clear are of all safety equipment and clean area of any spills or drips prior to departing transfer area.
- t. Remove derailers and railcar chocks when car is full and transfer operation has finished.

Useful Information

- Permittees must abide by the "Standards for the Management of Used Oil" R315-15. These rules may be more stringent than Federal EPA regulations. Visit https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search//Current%20Rules under the Environmental Quality Agency tab, Waste Management and Radiation Control (315) Title tab, Standard for the Management of Used Oil (15) for the Used Oil Rules. Visit https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title19/Chapter6/19-6-P7.html?v=C19-6-P7 1800010118000101 for the Used Oil Management Act.
- Failure to comply with Permit requirements or the Rules may lead to enforcement actions and/or revocation of a permit.
- Permittees are required to submit an annual report by March 1, of each year, for the prior calendar year. To view or download the form: <a href="https://deq.utah.gov/waste-management-and-radiation-control/forms-division-of-waste-management-and-radiation-control/forms-division-control/forms-division-control/forms-division-
- Permittees are subject to periodic used oil program inspections.
- All records associated with used oil transportation must be kept for a minimum of 3 years.
- Permittees must comply with all applicable Dept. of Transportation regulations (49 CFR 171 180). Contact UDOT (801-965-4000) for more information.
- Transporting used oil prior to receiving a final permit shall lead to enforcement actions including monetary penalties.

General Information

What is used oil?

Used oil is any oil, refined from crude oil (mineral oil) or synthetic oil, that has been used and as a result of that use is contaminated by physical or chemical impurities. Some common examples include used lubricating oils, hydraulic oils, transmission fluids, compressor oils, transformer oils, metalworking oils, or any mixtures of any of these items with other materials.

Used oil IS NOT virgin oil, vegetable oil, or bio-diesel (unless mixed with used oil).

What are the Rules for Used Oil?

"Standards for the Management of Used Oil" (R315-15) may be located at https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/search//Current%20Rules

Who Needs a Transporter Permit?

Anyone who plans to transport used oil (see definition above) in amounts of more than 55 gallons at one time. This will usually be a business that collects used oil from one or more generator locations, and then transports the used oil to another location to be processed/re-refined, burned for energy recovery or transferred to another permitted facility. A used oil transporter must first obtain a permit prior to transporting used oil in Utah even if you are currently a hazardous waste transporter.

Who does not need a Used Oil Transporter Permit?

- 5. Farmers who transport one 55-gallon drum of used oil (at one time) to a used oil collection center.
- 6. Do-It-Yourselfer (DIYer) households who transports less than 5 gallons to a used oil collection center.
- 7. Businesses that transport less than 55 gallons per visit to a Type C or D used oil collection center (collection center that can accept business oil).

Who Needs a Transfer Facility Permit?

A transfer Facility Permit will also be required if used oil will be held at transportation-related facilities including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas or other areas more than 24 hours and not longer than 35 days.

Who Needs a Processor Permit?

A Processor Permit is required if the used oil collected by a transporter will be held 35 days or more. If you are uncertain if you need a permit, please check with the Division at (801) 536-0200.

A complete and detailed application will greatly minimize time and charges. We recommend contacting the Division if you would like to discuss the application prior to submission.

Fees

- A one-time filing fee of \$100 is required and must be attached with each permit application.
- A registration fee of \$100 is also required to obtain a Used Oil Handler Certificate that is necessary to operate as a Used Oil Fuel Marketer in Utah. This is an annual registration fee that will need to be renewed by December 31 of each calendar year. This fee must also be attached.
- The Permittee will be billed for actual costs associated with the review of the registration application and registration preparation.

Definitions

USED OIL – Means any oil, refined from crude oil or synthetic oil, that has been used and as a result of that use is contaminated by physical or chemical impurities. Used oil includes engine oil, transmission fluid, compressor oils, metalworking oils, hydraulic oil, brake fluid, oils used as buoyants, lubricating greases, electrical insulating, and dialectic oils. (R315-015.1.7.d)

USED OIL COLLECTION CENTER (UOCC) – There are four types of UOCC, type A, B, C, and D.

- Type A and B is any site or facility that accepts/aggregates and stores used oil collected only from household doit-yourselfers (DIYers) in quantities not exceeding five gallons per visit.
- Type B used oil collection center is any site or facility that accepts/aggregates and stores used oil collected from farmers as required by R315-15-2.1(a)(4) in quantities not exceeding 55 gallons per visit from farmers and not exceeding five gallons per visit from household do-it-yourselfers.
- Type C used oil collection center is any site or facility that accepts/aggregates and stores used oil collected from used oil generators regulated under R315-15-2 who bring used oil to the collection center in shipments of no more than 55 gallons under the provisions of R315-15-2.5(a). Type C used oil collection centers may also accept used oil from household do-it-yourselfers and farmers described in R315-15-2.1(a)(4).
- Type D used oil collection center is any site or facility that only accepts/aggregates and stores used oil collected from used oil generators regulated under R315-15-2 who bring used oil to the collection center in shipments of no more than 55 gallons under the provisions of R315-15-2.5(a). Type D used oil collection centers do not qualify for reimbursement.

USED OIL FUEL MARKETER – Means any person who conducts either of the following activities: (a) directs a shipment of off-specification used oil from its facility to a used oil burner; or (b) first claims the used oil to be burned for energy recovery meets the used oil fuel specifications set forth in R315-15-1.2. A person may not act as a used oil marketer without receiving a registration number issued by the Director of the Division of Waste Management & Radiation Control pursuant to R315-15-13.7.

USED OIL OFF-SPECIFICATION BURNER – An off-specification used oil burner is a person who burns used oil not meeting the specifications found in R315-15-1.2 for energy recovery. (R315-015-6.1.a)

USED OIL PROCESSOR/RE-REFINER FACILITY – Used oil Processor/re-refiner facilities are facilities designed for processing used oil. Processing means chemical or physical operations designed to produce from used oil, or to make used oil more amenable for production of, fuel oils, lubricants, or other used oil-derived products. Processing includes: blending used oil with virgin petroleum products, blending used oils to meet the fuel specification, filtration, simple distillation, chemical or physical separation and re-refining. (R315-015-5.1.a)

USED OIL TRANSFER FACILITY – Used oil transfer facilities are transportation-related facilities including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas, and other areas where shipments of used oil are held for more than 24 hours during the normal course of transportation and not longer than 35 days. Transfer facilities that store used oil for more than 35 days are subject to the processor/re-refiner requirements found in R315-15-4.6.

USED OIL TRANSPORTER – Persons who transport used oil, persons who collect used oil from more than one generator and transport the collected used oil, and owners and operators of used oil transfer facilities are used oil transporters. (R315-015-4.1a)

The owner or operator shall notify the Utah Division of Waste Management & Radiation Control in writing of any changes in the information submitted on the registration within 20 days of the change.

A registered used oil facility (when applicable) shall maintain a complete record of all analyses and transactions, documented by reproducible receipts for three years; and, upon request, make available to the Division for inspection or photocopying, all applicable analysis, records, and receipts for purposes of review and audit.