o[UDY

WE RECOMMEND

20-30 hours of study for low level (grades 2 and under)
40-50 hours of study for high level (grades 3 and up)

30 days before taking another exam

so save your time and money-study!

DrinkingWater.utah.gov’s Study Page
O has the study materials listed here and more.
Q

STUDY MATERIALS

STUDY GUIDES

Answer what you know, research what you don’t.

SCREENCAST VIDEOS & QUIZZES
Covers the 6 categories on the exam:
s Rules® * Math**
e Chemical Feed  Operation & Maintenance
 Safety & Security e« Pumps

*Sometimes not up to date when rules have recently changed.
**Coming soon.

LENDING LIBRARY
L J Check out the books that were used to
create the exam questions, and more.
TRAINING CALENDAR
Local trainings in Utah (includes some pre-

certification courses). Located on our Operator
Certification Page.

= Exam

Registration

Distribution: For those
who would like to operate a
water distribution system.
You will operate and maintain
pumps, distribution mains,
transmission lines, reservoirs
requlators, wvalves, booster
stations, wells, etc.

CHOOSE YOUR CERTIFICATION TYPE:

Treatment: For those who
filter their water. They will
operate and maintain water
treatment plants. There are
different types of treatment
such as conventional plants,
direct filtration, membrane,
slow sand, etc. You will learn

techniques of filtration and
maintenance  of  filtering
systems.

Grade level: Based on population the water system serves:

Distribution Level Treatment Level
Small System - 25-500 1-25-1500

1-501-1500 1T-1501-5000
II-1501-5000 III - 5001-15000

IIT - 5001-15000 IV -15001 and up

IV -15001 and up

CHOOSE HOW TO TAKE THE EXAM:

Online: $150, pay and register with RWAU, and
schedule an appointment

Paper: $200, pay and register with Drinking Water,
conference courses not required

Applications available online at DrinkingWater.utah.gov > Forms
or (for online exams) by contacting RWAU (rwau.net)

CITIZENSHIP FORM

By law, Utah water operators are required to submit a notarized
proof of identification to the Division of Drinking Water. This only
has to be completed once. Make a copy of your government issued
picture L.D. on our citizenship form (found online and attached to
each exam registration form), then get it notarized. Any bank has
anotary on staff.

You will get 3 hours to take the
exam. Arrive 15 minutes early to
check in and get instructions.

Bring to the exam:

+Calculator (4 function calc. preferred)
V «Driver’s license or government ID

*#2 pencil and eraser

Items not allowed during the exam:
« No cellphones, laptops, or devices that

can hold custom text (ex: programmable
calc.)
« No phones as calculators

*Books
« Your own scratch paper or notes

Provided during the exam:

X | =1 Sheet of math formulas and conversions
Scratch paper
-+

WAIT FOR RESULTS

The state takes about four weeks to process
your exam®. Results are confidential and
cannot be shared via email or phone, only by

mail.
*Unless you took an online exam.



Being

awater

operator allows you the

opportunity to learn all

asfpects of providing a

SdlE and plentiful supply

of drinking water to the

public you serve. Besides

that, what other job lets

you do the things you loved

as a kid, like playing in the

mud, while at the same

time ensuring the safety

of public health? There is

something new .

everyday

in this

career, |

and you'll

never get

hored.

Mainienance

Certification is active for a 3-year period from the
next Jan. 1%t after you pass the exam.

CEU’s
You must acquire CEU’s in order to renew at the end
of your 3-year period. CEU’s are based on your grade
level.

Grade SS-2 2 CEU’s =20hours

Grade3 & 4 3 CEU’s =30hours

If you are recently certified, don't bother
' acquiring CEU credit before the next Jan. 1%
@ after you passed the exam.
« Your certification is only tracked from the next Jan.
1%, through 3 years, ending on Dec. 31°.

RENEWAL

After acquiring enough CEU’s, you must apply and
pay for renewal at the end of your 3-year period.

STAY CURRENT

You must keep your contact info and water system up
to date with us. You can inform us of any changes via
email or phone.

More info can be found online on our
O Operator Certification > Resources
S page, or in our Stay Certified brochure.

contact us

p: (801) 536-4200
e: DDWOpCert@utah.gov

How to become certified
and start a rewarding career
providing a precious source of life
and safeguarding public health.
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