How Does a Company Become Certified?

Companies that perform regulated renovation activities for compensation must apply to the Utah Division of Air Quality for certification. Firms may certify for up to five years. The current Utah DAQ certification fee is \$110 per year. Request a login to the ATLAS database to submit applications for both the company and individual(s) at leadbasedpaint@utah.gov

How Do Renovators (Individuals) Become Certified?

Individuals must successfully complete an accredited renovator training course (8 hours), submit a certification application, and submit a <u>Citizenship Certification Form</u> to the Utah DAQ. Individuals may certify for up to five years. The current Utah DAQ certification fee is \$110 per year. To maintain certification, individuals must complete an accredited refresher course (4 hours) every five years. The list of accredited training providers is available <u>here</u>.

Where Can I Get More Information?

For more information, contact the Utah Division of Air Quality at 801-536-4000. Information is also available at <u>leadbasedpaint.utah.gov</u>.

Benefits

Protect your workers, yourself, and your customers from a health risk

• Dust from renovation, repairs, and painting can contaminate an entire home and, if inhaled or ingested, can cause irreversible damage to children and adults.

Gain competitive advantage

- Certification makes you stand out from others and positions you as a professional contractor consumers can trust. Using your company's certification in your marketing materials may help attract business.
- Consumers will look for the certification before hiring contractors and may be more accepting of additional costs and time associated with doing the job safely.
- Upon certification of your firm, your company will be listed as a Certified Lead-Based Paint Firm on the DAQ website, giving your firm the potential for new customers.

Avoid fines and reduce liability risk

• Without certification and by not following approved practices, you and your company can face fines and put yourself and your company at risk of potential lawsuits.

Utah Lead-Based Paint Renovation, Repair, and Painting Rule

What You Need To Know

Utah Division of Air Quality



195 North 1950 West PO Box 144820 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

Telephone (801) 536-4000

leadbasedpaint.utah.gov

What is Covered by the Rule?

The rule applies to:

- Renovation, repair, and painting activities performed by paid contractors (including maintenance workers in multifamily housing, painters, and other specialty trades) working in pre-1978 housing, rental units, child care facilities, and schools.
- Minor repair and maintenance activities affecting more than six square feet of painted surface or other coatings in a room or more than 20 square feet of painted surface or other coatings on the exterior of a regulated facility.

The rule does <u>*not*</u> apply to:

- Minor repair and maintenance that disrupts six square feet or less of painted or coated surface per room and 20 square feet or less of painted or coated surface for exterior projects. Window removal and demolition activities are subject to the rule.
- Renovations where it is determined the renovation will not involve lead-based paint or other lead containing coatings. This determination can be made by a Utah Division of Air Quality (DAQ) certified inspector, risk assessor, or renovator (see the List of Certified Lead-Based Paint Firms)
- Owner-occupied housing where the owner is performing his/her own renovation work.

What Work Practices are Required?

Required work practices include:

- Posting signs clearly defining the work area and warning occupants and other persons not involved in renovation activities to remain outside of the work area.
- Isolating the work area so that no dust or debris leaves the work area while the renovation is being performed.
- Containing waste from renovation activities to prevent the release of dust and debris.
- Cleaning the work area after the renovation is complete.

What Work Practices are Prohibited?

Certain dangerous work practices are prohibited and include using a heat gun at temperatures greater than 1100° F, open flame burning or torching, sanding, grinding, needle gunning, or blasting with power tools and equipment not equipped with a shroud and High Efficiency Particulate Air (HEPA) vacuum attachment.

Where can I get Utah LBP Rules and Information?

You are responsible to comply with the current Utah Lead-Based Paint Administrative Rules and the above summary is meant to help you with that process. Utah LBP rules are available at <u>leadbasedpaint.utah.gov</u>. For more information, contact the Utah Division of Air Quality at 801-536-4000.

What are the Responsibilities of a Utah Certified Renovation Firm?

Firms performing renovations must ensure that:

- They are certified as a firm with the Utah DAQ.
- All persons performing renovation activities are Utah certified renovators or have received on-the-job training by a Utah certified renovator.
- A Utah certified renovator is assigned to each renovation performed by the firm.
- All renovations are performed in accordance with applicable Utah work practice standards.

What is the Role of the Utah Certified Renovator?

A Utah certified renovator:

- Must be certified with the Utah DAQ.
- Directs uncertified workers performing regulated renovation activities.
- Provides training to uncertified workers on lead safe work practices.
- Is required to be at the work site during key stages of a renovation. The renovator must be available either on-site or by telephone.
- May use a U. S. Environmental Protection Agency recognized test kit to determine whether lead-based paint is present in affected areas.
- Must verify the cleanliness of the work area using a procedure involving disposable cleaning cloths.